Parents For Safe Technology

The LA School District Uses a Threshold 10,000 Less Than the FCC Limits

The OEHS supported  a precautionary threshold level that is 10,000 times lower than the current Federal Communications Commission standard.  

Read The Email Below. Read the News Reports after the Email.


From:  "Kim, Yi Hwa" <yi_hwa.kim@lausd.net>
Subject:  RE: LAUSD Wireless Classrooms: Recognizing and abiding by the provisions of Sections 32060-32066 of the California State Education Code
Date:  December 4, 2014 at 9:26:57 AM PST
To:  "  XXXX   
Cc:  "Vladovic, Richard" <richard.vladovic@lausd.net>, "Galatzan, Tamar" <tamar.galatzan@lausd.net>, "Garcia, Monica (Board Member)" <monica.garcia@lausd.net>, "Mckenna, George" <george.mckenna@lausd.net>, "Ratliff, Monica" <monica.ratliff@lausd.net>, "Zimmer, Steven" <szimmer@lausd.net>, "Cortines, Ramon" <ramon.cortines@lausd.net>, "King, Michelle, Chief Deputy Superintendent" <michelle.king@lausd.net>, "Melendez, Thelma" <thelma.melendez@lausd.net>, "Perkins, Earl" <earl.perkins@lausd.net>

 
Dear XXXXX
 
Superintendent Cortines is in receipt of your e-mail correspondence and has forwarded it to the Office of Environmental Health and Safety (OEHS) for response.  Mr. Cortines would like to  thank you for taking the time to express concern regarding the potential exposure to radiofrequency (RF) emissions associated with the use of wireless devices in our schools and how they may impact the health of our students.
 
Let me begin by stating that the District is aware of California Education Code Sections 32060-32066 which prohibit the   purchase of art and craft materials containing toxic substances for use by students in grades K-6, and requires that art products purchased for use by students in grades 7-12 be properly labeled to inform users of long-term health risks and instructions for their use. 
 
However, the District questions this statute’s applicability to extend to the use of tablets, laptops and related computer end-devices.  Notwithstanding, its applicability also relates to the International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) substance classification.  As you note, IARC has classified radiofrequency electromagnetic fields within Group2B.  However, a review of IARC’s Monograph (Volume 102) reports there is both “limited evidence” in humans and experimental animals for the carcinogenicity of radiofrequency radiation.  Applicability to this statute would require a classification of at least a “potential human carcinogen” whereby the substance must show “sufficient evidence of carcinogenicity in animals.”
 
Nevertheless, the District shares your concerns as many questions remain regarding RF exposures.  That is why the OEHS established a precautionary threshold level that is 10,000 times lower than the current Federal Communications Commission standard.  A supplemental report was recently commissioned by our office to validate the use of this threshold as well as conduct in-classroom monitoring to document compliance.  These studies both validate the use of this precautionary approach and show in-classroom RF exposure levels well within our established threshold.  These studies are available on the OEHS website at http://achieve.lausd.net/Page/2946  .
 
Let me assure you the District is committed to ensuring the health and safety of its students and staff and will continue to review all relevant and appropriate information regarding RF exposures and health.
 
Again, thank you for your concern.  You may contact Bill Piazza of the Office of Environmental Health and Safety at (213) 241-3199 should you have any further questions.
 
 
Sincerely,
 
Yi Hwa Kim
Interim Director
Office of Environmental Health and Safety